Electoral College LIVE stream: How to watch US Presidential results

US Election: Farage says Trump will win electoral college majority

The Electoral College vote coverage today is commanding more attention than ever given the efforts from incumbent US President Donald Trump to overturn the election results in several key states. At the time of writing, Mr Biden is currently leading in the vote so far with 202 Electoral College votes to 174 for Donald Trump. But how can you watch the US Presidential results on December 14?

Joe Biden won the 2020 presidential election after Americans cast their ballots on November 3.

Since Election Day, all 50 states and the District of Columbia have now certified their votes and named slates of electors.

These electors will meet on Monday, December 14, to formally cast their ballots for President and Vice President.

This is the next step in finalising Joe Biden’s victory and official election as the 46th US President.

We will use your email address only for sending you newsletters. Please see our Privacy Notice for details of your data protection rights.

What is the Electoral College?

The electoral college refers to a group of presidential electors required by the US constitution to form every four years for the sole purpose of electing the president and the vice president of the USA.

The number of electors each state gets is roughly in line with its population size.

Each state gets as many electors as it has lawmakers in the US Congress.

California has the most electors at 55, compared to a handful of states who only have three such as Alaska and Wyoming.

In total there are 538 electors in the electoral college.

A presidential candidate must win a majority of the electoral college to win the presidency.

President Donald Trump and Mr Biden were fighting to win 270 votes or more.

Generally states award all of their electoral college votes based on whether the candidate won the poll of ordinary voters in the state, for instance, if a candidate wins 50.1 percent of the vote they win the state.

What is happening with the Electoral College today?

It is a matter of law which mandates electors meet on the first Monday after the second Wednesday in December.

This enables states to have enough time to count votes after the election in November and settle any disputes over results.

Electors today will meet to cast votes, individually and on paper to elect their president and vice president.

DON’T MISS
Donald Trump scolds reporters ‘don’t talk to the President like that’ [INSIGHT]
Donald Trump FINALLY accepts defeat as he pledges to leave White House [VIDEO]
Which Republicans have recognised Joe Biden as President-Elect? [ANALYSIS]

Despite the Electoral College process not typically commanding much attention.

The Republican incumbent is still disputing his loss of 232 Electoral College votes to Mr Biden’s 306.

Given Mr Trump’s legal challenges which have been rejected in several courts across the country, the state-by-state vote is under an intense spotlight today.

Vermont, New Hampshire, Indiana and Tennessee were among the first states where electors gathered in capitals (or in Washington DC) on Monday to formally cast their votes.

The vote is expected to see Mr Biden pushed well above the 270-vote tally required to win the presidency.

The US Constitution clearly outlines that electors, not voters, select the president and vice president.

Once the voting process is complete, the votes will be sent to Washington where they will be formally counted in a joint session of Congress on January 6.

This process is presided over by the incumbent Vice-President Mike Pence.

The US President-Elect plans to address Americans on Monday evening after the electors have voted.

How to watch the US Electoral College President vote

In most cases, states are providing free access to live streams.

The best way to find a live stream is to visit your state website and search for a live stream there.

Live streams are usually offered by the state legislative body.

You can also watch the Washington Post’s live stream of the Electoral College voting process here.

Local media outlets may also offer a live stream or offer local coverage.

What time are results expected in each state?

A handful of states begin voting around 10 am ET and the process will continue throughout the course of the day, with the last vote set to take place around 7 p.m. ET.

Electors vote at 10am ET (3pm GMT) in:

  • Indiana
  • New Hampshire
  • Tennessee
  • Vermont

Electors vote at 11am ET (4pm GMT) in:

  • Arkansas
  • Illinois
  • Mississippi
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina

Electors vote at 11:30am ET (4.30pm GMT) in:

  • Delaware
  • Iowa
  • Nevada

Electors vote at 11:45am ET (4.45pm GMT) in:

  • Kentucky

Electors vote at 12pm ET (5pm GMT) in:

  • Arizona
  • Connecticut
  • Georgia
  • Maryland
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Virginia

Electors vote at 12:30pm ET (5.30pm GMT) in:

  • Louisiana

Electors vote at 1pm ET (6pm GMT) in:

  • Alabama
  • Kansas
  • Minnesota
  • New Mexico
  • South Dakota
  • Wisconsin

Electors vote at 2pm ET (7pm GMT) in:

  • Colorado
  • Washington, DC
  • Florida
  • Idaho
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • North Dakota
  • Utah
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

Electors vote at 3pm ET (8pm GMT) in:

  • Alaska
  • Massachusetts
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • New Jersey
  • Texas
  • Washington

Electors vote at 4pm ET (9pm GMT) in:

  • Montana

Electors vote at 4:30pm ET (9.30pm GMT) in:

  • Oregon

Electors vote at 5:30pm ET (10.30pm GMT)in:

  • California

Electors vote at 7pm ET (12am update) in:

  • Hawaii.

Source: Read Full Article