Brits ‘face EU travel ban’ when Brexit transition period ends on January 1

The Daily Star’s FREE newsletter is spectacular! Sign up today for the best stories straight to your inbox

Brits will be banned from travelling to EU countries in 2021 when the Brexit transition period ends, according to reports.

The UK will exit the European Union on January 1, meaning UK residents will no longer be able to travel freely in the continent under the bloc's Covid-19 safety rules.

Budget airlines like easyJet have reported a surge in bookings after news of a coronavirus vaccine broke, but many of those trips will now be in jeopardy.

Travellers from a limited number of countries with low coronavirus rates are allowed to move around for non-essential travel, with eight non-EU countries including Australia, New Zealand and Singapore on the list of "safe" nations.

The EU Commission has declared there will be no exemption for the UK, according to the FinancialTimes.

Brits will only be allowed to travel to EU countries if the rules are relaxed or individual states ignore current Covid-19 rules governing the bloc.

According to the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control, 18 EU countries have higher rates of coronavirus than Britain.

Individual member states have been reluctant to override the EU recommendation to forbid the entry of travellers from countries not on the approved safe list.

  • Areas at risk of moving into Tier 3 next week as Covid-19 cases skyrocket in London

For Britain to be added it would need to satisfy criteria set out by the EU.

Norway, which is not in the EU but closely associated through the European Economic Area, has already stated it will not allow Britons who do not live there to enter from January 1.

A government spokesperson said: "We cannot comment on decisions that could be taken by other states on public health matters.

"We take a scientific, risk-based approach to health measures at the border, and it is of course in the interests of all countries to allow safe international travel as we emerge from the pandemic."

There are a number of exemptions which individuals could meet to allow them to travel. They apply to diplomats, people travelling for urgent family reasons and some "highly qualified workers".

  • Brexit
  • Coronavirus
  • Travel Advice

Source: Read Full Article